Battle lines drawn for Punjab Press Club, Jalandhar election, nominations filed

Punjab Tribune Bureau | May 19, 2017 06:44 PM


JALANDHAR: Battle lines have been drawn today for the first ever elections of Punjab Press Club, as nominations for all the six posts have been filed today and final list of candidates would be displayed on May 21, the last date of withdrawal of the nominations.

So far, three groups have emerged in the poll-fray, which includes Rudra-Bhaskar panel, Johal-Major Panel and Surinder-Thapa panel. Following are the nominations filed for the six different posts, for which polling is scheduled to be held on May 24:


Sunil Rudra, Lakhwinder Singh Johal, Surinder Pal and Jatinder Sharma

GENERAL SECRETARY: Rajeev Bhaskar, Major Singh, Rajesh Thapa and Swadesh Nanchal

SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT: Paramjit Singh Rangpuri, Kuldip Singh Bedi and Mandeep Sharma

VICE PRESIDENT: Ashwani Khurana, Rajesh Yogi, Swarn Singh Taina and Manvir Singh Walia

TREASRAR: Mahavir Seth, Shiv Sharma, Rajesh Sharma and Ramesh Happy

JOINT SECRETARY: Sarabjit Singh Kaka, Sanjeev Tony and Shinder Pal

There were hectic activities were seen in the Press Club premises as barring Rudra-Bhaskar panel, other two panels were seen indulging in finalising their candidates at eleventh hour and finally nominations were filed minutes before the deadline of 5 PM.

It is expected that hectic campaign would begin by tomorrow as each panel has planned an extensive campaigning during next four days to attract voters in their favour.




Have something to say? Post your comment
Must Read